My Childhood in Literature

260

This is without a doubt the most exciting bookshelf in my possession (and not just because it has a couple of pictures of Johnny Depp and a shirtless Jon Bon Jovi, as much as they add to the general appeal). Admittedly, I tend to find most bookshelves at least marginally exciting, but then I don’t get out of the house much. You may have seen in a previous post the rather chaotic and overloaded state of my bookshelves. It’s true that I’m extremely disorganised in all aspects of my life, with the exception of these garishly yellow bookshelves you see before you. Barring The Casual Vacancy, which is kept here partly out of a desire to keep authors together and partly due to lack of space, and the Alan Gibbons books which, without sounding harsh, are here for want of a better place to put them, these shelves are filled with some of the favourite books of my childhood. They’re the ones I turned to again and again and reread until the cows came home, and that I still like to turn to even now at the grand old age of 23. If I’m having a bad day I like to curl up in my duvet and pick up an old favourite, and pretend that I’m small again when everything was simple and seemingly always fun. The Enid Blyton books are particularly special, because they were read and reread by my mum in the ’60s and ’70s until she gave them to me to read and reread in the ’90s. I loved the Famous Five books so much that I’d read to the end of the series and then begin them again immediately, and I was desperate to go to a boarding school after reading Malory Towers. Sadly their dog-eared, well-thumbed state and the brittle nature of 1970s paperbacks means they’re far too fragile for me to read again, but I’m still enormously attached to them. It’s because of their state that I doubt I’ll be reviewing them on here, but everything else is fair game and I’m rubbing my hands with glee thinking about the many other childish delights I have secretly tucked away amongst the chaos of my ‘grown-up’ shelves. Goodness me, I do love a well-stocked bookshelf!

Leave a Reply

