Bookish Ramblings

So a few days ago, this happened. I somehow managed to acquire this many new books, literally in the space of a week. 24 books in 7 days! I don’t quite know how it happened, and I definitely need to enforce a strict book buying ban now, because things really are getting quite out of hand.

003

I don’t know how clearly you can see from the picture, but I’ll briefly go through them all because I’m quite excited just looking at them. Firstly, and most impressively I think, I managed to get the entire works of Charles Dickens for £15. That’s 16 books for £15, and they’re not small books either! It was such an amazing bargain that I just couldn’t pass it up. I already have a couple of them, but now I have a lovely matching set so I’ll give my original copies to my family (apart from my copy of Bleak House, which I’m going to hang onto even though it’s a duplicate because it’s just so damn beautiful). Anyway, I got the set from The Book People when they popped into work, and when I checked on their website later it said I’d made a saving of over £120! Not bad at all. I picked up Ian McEwan’s The Comfort of Strangers in a charity shop, because I can never resist a bit of McEwan, and The Cuckoo’s Calling and How I Learned to Be a Heroine arrived from Amazon yesterday. I’ve been waiting for The Cuckoo’s Calling to come out in paperback for a while, and my friend’s been telling me I have to read How I Learned to be a Heroine for the past month or so. It’d be rude to ignore her, afterall. The rest came from Sainsbury’s because they were cheap, and because I also want to watch the various film adaptations, or I thought the covers were too pretty to ignore.

In other news, I’ve been spending a fair amount of time looking at the book channels on Youtube lately (‘booktubers’ I believe they’re called). It looks like a lot of fun, but I’m not going to start a channel for a number of reasons, the main one being that I couldn’t bear to hear myself on video let alone see myself, and I don’t want the whole world to know what an absolute tip my room is (literally piles of books all over the floor) and how I spend most of my life in my pyjamas.

So, I’m not going to create a ‘booktube’ channel, but I am going to steal a sizeable chunk of their ideas. To begin with, it might be nice to make things a bit more visual around here, so prepare for many pictures of book piles in future. One thing that booktubers seem to do a lot is prepare a TBR stack or ‘To Be Read’ pile of books, that they plan to read in the coming month. I think that’s quite a good idea, because there are so many books that I plan to read in the very near future, but then I’m so easily distracted by pretty covers and the like that things always end up getting sidelined in favour of the newest purchases. So I’m going to set myself a TBR pile, to be read in an indeterminate length of time at the moment, because all of the books I’m reading at the moment are on the hefty side, and I’ve no idea how long it’ll take yet.

I’m also going to pinch the idea of doing certain challenges – reading so many books or so many pages within a set time frame and the like, which might be something I’ll consider doing for certain series of books, although it obviously depends on ‘real life’ not getting in the way too much (as it invariably tends to do).

So, these are my soon to be reviewed books that I’ve already finished, and I’m working on the reviews at the moment. It’s just to give you a little taste of what’s to come in the next week or so.

004

And this is my TBR pile, which are the books I’m currently already reading and which are basically my next batch that need finishing and reviewing. I’m also going to add in The Book Thief by Markus Zusak (which I desperately need to reread before seeing the film soon), and the first book in whichever series wins the poll over here.

005

Please don’t forget to vote in the poll, I really could do with help making a decision! Obviously I’d love to read all of the series listed in the poll, but I don’t know which one to start with, so it’s over to you! You can vote as many times as you like (I think, I’m pretty new to this poll lark but give it a try), and it might be worth voting a couple of times actually because at the moment the results are sitting on a multi-way tie. I originally said that I’d close the poll this Sunday (tomorrow), but if the results are a tie I’ll leave it open for another week until a decision is made. So please go and vote, and keep an eye out for a lot of reviews over the next week or so.

Leave a Reply

