Book Vs. Film: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (J.K. Rowling)

HP2 HP2 film

In the second Harry Potter book, things start to take a darker turn. Something is attacking the muggle-born students and, due to a series of poorly-timed coincidences, Harry is held to blame by some of the other students. He has to find out who, or what, is really responsible for the attacks, otherwise Hogwarts will close and he’ll have to go back to living with the Dursleys.

I’ve read this so many times and I know the story so well by now that none of it is a surprise to me. I knew exactly who was responsible for the attacks, and how they went about it. It’s not something I’d ever have been able to work out for myself though, and although I can’t remember reading Chamber of Secrets for the first time, I imagine the suspense of trying to solve the ‘riddle’ (ha!) and the big reveal would have had me on tenterhooks. I’m actually kind of sad that I can’t read it for the first time again.

It’s not all doom and gloom though, because we are introduced to two new characters, Dobby the house elf and Professor Lockhart, the new Defence Against the Dark Arts teacher, both of whom are so much fun to read about. Dobby’s endearing but unpredictable (and perhaps a little unhinged), while Lockhart is so full of himself and yet so inept at even the most basic of tasks. He hardly seems like the ideal teacher. I really like the portrayal of Dobby on screen, he was made with CGI (apparently Daniel Radcliffe had to have a lot of intense conversations with a tennis ball on a stick), but he looked and sounded exactly like Putin how I’d imagined him. I wasn’t quite so sure about the casting of Lockhart, I think it’s because I put such faith in Kenneth Branagh as being such a capable actor that I find it hard to believe he could be as incompetent as Lockhart.

I certainly appreciated some of the other characters more in this film, and I was amazed by how much more grown up Daniel Radcliffe already seemed since the first film. Julie Walters as Mrs Weasley switching between saying kind, welcoming things to Harry and shouting at her sons was brilliant, and the faces Rupert Grint pulled as Ron throwing up slugs were something to behold. However, there were a few things in the film that I did take issue with, and that weren’t done as well as the book.

For a start, I was rather sad not to see Arthur Weasley having a bout of fisticuffs with Lucius Malfoy (and his immaculate hair), and I really would have liked to have seen the Weasleys degnoming the garden. The way in which Harry ended up getting lost in the floo powder incident was rather silly, and then he didn’t even see the Malfoys in Knockturn Alley. Why even bother including Knockturn Alley if the Malfoys weren’t there? That was the whole point of that episode! It was made all too obvious that Lucius Malfoy slipped Ginny Tom Riddle’s diary as well, I don’t think we really needed to see it sitting in her cauldron. The whole flying car debacle was really taken too far as well. I understand that they were trying to make it more dramatic, but to have it nearly hit by the Hogwarts Express and then for Harry to fall out of it for no good reason was going a bit over the top if you ask me (although I’ll admit it was entertaining). But why would Ron’s wand break before they’d even crashed? There was also no death party (although that was probably a subplot too far by this point, and one I was willing to lose considering how long the film was already going on for).

I do think there were a few poor character judgements made along the way as well. I don’t believe for one minute that McGonagall would have told the students about the Chamber of Secrets and, angry or not, there’s no way that Harry and Ron would have behaved quite so ludicrously as Crabbe and Goyle (and why would they still have their own voices after taking polyjuice potion? Surely the audience could keep up and realise it’s them without using their own voices). Also, considering that Aragog was meant to have been blamed for killing Myrtle, the Aragog who escaped the castle seemed nowhere near as big or dangerous enough as the book made out.

I did really enjoy the whole spider episode though, even if it was a bit Lord of the Ringsy. Even though I knew it was coming, I still jumped like mad when one of the spiders grabbed Ron through the car window. Overall, I thought all of the effects, from the basilisk to Harry changing into Goyle with the polyjuice potion, were very effective. Harry’s floppy arm even made me feel a bit squeamish (but then I am a total wuss when it comes to things like that).

I did feel like the film went on for far too long though. Other than The Deathly Hallows which had to be split into two, this was the longest film of the series, which seems strange considering it’s one of the shortest books. It did feel like it was dragging at times too. Then, when it finally got around to a close, I have to say it had one of the worst, cheesiest, and most sentimental endings I think I have ever seen. It was all a bit odd, and to be honest it was completely cringeworthy. I could actually feel my toes curling just watching it. I have no idea why the powers that be decided to end it that way, but I really, really wish they hadn’t.

It might not sound like it, but I did actually enjoy the film for the most part (apart from the ending, which I hated), but I’ll admit that I did get bored at times, and it could have done with being a good half hour shorter. The book was far more enjoyable for me though, probably because it gave a more complete picture of the story. It’s generally always the way; the films are fine, but they just can’t compete with the power of the written word coupled with a child’s vivid imagination.

See also My Culture Mission or read reviews of The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling and a Book Vs. Film Review of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone.

8 thoughts on “Book Vs. Film: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (J.K. Rowling)

  1. Pingback: Book Vs. Film: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (J.K. Rowling) | The Steel Review

  2. Pingback: Book Vs. Film: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (J.K. Rowling) | The Steel Review

  3. Pingback: My Culture Mission: Books | The Steel Review

  4. Pingback: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix | The Steel Review

  5. Pingback: Book Vs. Film: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (J.K. Rowling) | The Steel Review

  6. Pingback: Book Vs. Film(s): Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (J.K. Rowling) | The Steel Review

  7. Pingback: The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith (J.K. Rowling) | The Steel Review

  8. Pingback: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling – The Steel Review

Leave a Reply

