Harry Potter Marathon Update

I really should have learned by now not to set myself posting deadlines. Once again, I have excuses. The problem with having a lovely week off work is that eventually the week ends, and then boring things start to interrupt life again. So that happened, and I’ve had computer issues (again), but mainly I felt the need to take a few days of musing before writing my review of the Deathly Hallows because, you know, feelings.

I wanted to do a Harry Potter marathon because I’ve been wanting to spend a concentrated period of time just reading, potentially as some kind of readathon, for a long time. Plus it’s been a while since I’ve read any Harry Potter. In fact, I haven’t read any of it since I finished Deathly Hallows when I was 17. I’d only read the seventh book once, and the sixth book twice, but I didn’t want to drag out the rereads over goodness knows how many lunch breaks (plus they’re bigass hardbacks and I didn’t fancy lugging them to work everyday). I thought I could probably read them in a week (at a push) as I read the last couple on the day each came out, and I had to take a week off work to use up my leftover holiday anyway so, seeing as I had no other plans made, I thought it would be the perfect time. I thought I’d try and squeeze in the films while I was at it as I haven’t seen most of them since they were shown in the cinema, so a Book Vs. Film comparison seemed like the obvious next step.

I tried to read one book a day, then watch the corresponding film in the evening and write a review before beginning the next book the next morning. This got rather more tiring as the week went on (especially on Order of the Phoenix day!), and by the time I’d watched the first half of The Deathly Hallows I was just too exhausted and it was too late to watch part two, so I had to save it until the next day. This meant the marathon actually lasted eight days instead of my planned seven, but I think if I’d persevered with trying to cram it into seven my eyeballs might actually have melted out of my skull. As it was, it was 3407 pages (roughly 57 hours of reading) and 1132 minutes (nearly 19 hours) of film. It’s quite a lot to cram into a week.

I can’t tell you how much fun I had though. I enjoyed the whole week so much! I laughed and I cried (lord, how I cried!) at the books, and I laughed and I cringed (lord, how I cringed!) at the films. I can’t tell you how brilliant it was to feel so immersed in Harry’s world though, I even had Harry Potter related dreams. It was a very intense week, what with all the feelings (and the fatigue. You wouldn’t have thought lounging around reading day after day would be so exhausting!) but I highly recommend it. It’s a very satisfying way to spend a week off work, reclaiming your childhood.

I will very shortly be posting my reviews (although this may take longer than planned as my computer’s already crashed several times just trying to post this). They’re a bit all over the place because of the tiredness and the crying (so much crying!), but I didn’t want to edit them because I thought it would be fun to record my thoughts as they were, post-long days of reading. As I just couldn’t get enough of my Harry Potter experience, I also read The Tales of Beadle the Bard, Quidditch Through the Ages and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them during a couple of evenings last week, and so I may post something about them in the near future. Now onwards, to the reviews!

Leave a Reply

