Bookmas

November is over, and I’m super pleased and excited to say that I won NaNoWriMo. Eeek! I reached the 50,000 word target, and my story isn’t finished but I’m aiming to have a complete first draft by Christmas. Anyway, now that my period of obsessive word counting is out of the way, I feel like it’s time for a new challenge. I’m sure you’ve all heard of vlogmas and blogmas, but ladies and gentlemen I present to you Bookmas! (I’m so imaginative when it comes to aiming things).

I feel like The Steel Review has been somewhat neglected lately, and has been very writing-post heavy during the last month for obvious reasons. During December however, I will be returning to my favourite posts – The Book Review! I’m aiming to post a new book review here every day from the 1st to the 24th December.* There are a couple of other things that I do want to post about at some point too, and I might hold off until after Christmas, but if I do post them before Christmas that will be on top of the daily book review. I’m promising 24 book reviews and 24 book reviews is what you’ll get at the minimum, any other posts will be extra.

I haven’t quite decided which books I’m going to review yet, but I have a fairly hefty backlist to choose from so you’ll just have to check back each day for an advent calendary book review surprise. Please bear in mind that all reviews are likely to contain spoilers though, so read them at your own risk!

To everyone who completed NaNoWriMo, I hope the month went well for you and you’ve still ended up with some words you can work with even if you didn’t make your target. There are fun lessons to be learned from it regardless of whether we won or not. (There’s no such thing as failure though, as long as you wrote ‘something’ you’re already onto a winner!)

I can’t believe it’s December already, but I’m definitely looking forward to my daily dose of advent calendar chocolate. Check back tomorrow to see what the first review will be, and good luck if you’re doing any of the blogmas/vlogmas challenges of your own.

*There are going to be a couple of days where I’m away during December, so the reviews might not always be posted on a daily basis, however in terms of quantity there will still be enough posted to account for every day of the challenge.

Leave a Reply

