Stuff and Nonsense

If you follow me over on Instagram you may have noticed that my aim for March is to get through as many of my library books as possible. I currently have 21 out on loan, and I’m by no means expecting to read all of them, but I’d really like to make some significant progress if I can (especially as a fair few have reservations against them and really need finishing in March). I haven’t made as much progress as I’d like so far because my workplace is undergoing a major staffing restructure (which includes a huge decrease in staff), so I have to reapply for my job and it’s all a bit stressful. However it does also mean that when I do get the chance to read, it’s absolutely the best form of escapism for me.

I will also (hopefully) be participating in my first Classics Spin in April. This is organised by The Classics Club, and the aim is to draw up a shortlist of 20 books from your Classics Club list (mine can be found here), and then to read whichever number title is randomly selected by the end of April. I probably won’t get a chance to start reading mine until the end of March, so I’ve removed some of the longer titles from my list. I also want to read the works of Jane Austen and Charles Dickens in their order of publication, so I’ve removed all except their first works from my shortlist. This is my final shortlist to pick from, and on 10th March I’ll find out which one I shall be reading in April.

1.    Louisa M. Alcott – Little Women

2.    Jane Austen – Sense and Sensibility

3.    Anne Brontë – The Tenant of Wildfell Hall

4.    Geoffrey Chaucer – The Canterbury Tales

5.    Wilkie Collins – The Woman in White

6.    Wilkie Collins – The Moonstone

7.    Miguel de Cervantes – Don Quixote

8.    Charles Dickens – The Pickwick Papers

9.    Alexandre Dumas – The Three Musketeers

10. Henry Fielding – Tom Jones

11. Gustav Flaubert – Madame Bovary

12. Elizabeth Gaskell – Cranford

13. Elizabeth Gaskell – North and South

14. Elizabeth Gaskell – Wives and Daughters

15. Victor Hugo – The Hunchback of Notre Dame

16. Herman Melville – Moby Dick

17. Edgar Allen Poe – Poe’s Tales of Mystery and Imagination

18. Bram Stoker – Dracula

19. William Makepeace Thackeray – Vanity Fair

20. Leo Tolstoy – Anna Karenina

I think that’s it for now, although keep your eyes peeled for some book reviews (finally!) appearing very soon.

18 thoughts on “Stuff and Nonsense

    • Thanks! I’m pretty intimidated by the size of Don Quixote so I’m sort of hoping it doesn’t come up this time around as I’d really like to dedicate a large chunk of time to reading it, but I’ve probably jinxed it now!

  1. You have a lot of great books on your list. I have read and loved both Wilkie Collins’ books, he is great. I love Jane Austen, but did not love Sense and Sensibility. I found it rather boring. The Tenant of Wildfell Hall is Anne Brontë’s best. Bram Stoker’s Draculs is great as well as Thackeray’s Vanity Fair. I have read North and South, but is no fan of Gaskell, but it is ok. I have difficulties reading Dickens, although I really would like to. They are just too big and the descriptions lingers into eternity! I think you have a great and very interesting lists of classics a head of you!

    • I’m really hoping The Tenant of Wildfell Hall gets picked, I’ve read Wuthering Heights and Jane Eyre before so I think it’s time to experience Anne. I’ve even more excited to read some of these now, especially Wilkie Collins 🙂

  2. You can never go wrong with a bit of Ms Austen, so I’m kinda hoping you get Sense and Sensibility. Good luck – hope you enjoy whichever one you end up with! 🙂

    • Thanks! I have read it before but it was quite a while ago and I think I may have been a bit too young to really appreciate it at the time, so it’s definitely due a reread. It’ll be a great excuse to rewatch the film too!

  3. Hi Sara – what a great list. Lots of winners here (except perhaps something to do with a whale and a captain with a pegleg). I’m hoping you get Pickwick Papers – yes its a long read but what a joy.
    I also went through a workplace change 5 months ago and I chose to jump ship (there’s that damn whale again), but sometimes a big change is a good thing too. As it turns out, I will be reapplying for my old job in coming weeks, but at least Ive had a holiday 😉 . Best wishes and good luck for you.

    • Thank you, and the same to you! I do love Dickens, but I’m a little relieved I didn’t end up with the Pickwick Papers this time around, I think I’d rather dedicate more time to reading it. I’ve heard such mixed things about Moby Dick now, it definitely sounds like a marmite book – you either love it or you hate it! Good luck with the job 🙂

  4. Great list!! I love Austen, Collins, and Gaskell, but I’m not sure you could go wrong with any of them. Actually, Dracula might be a good one if you’re short on time–as I recall that one read pretty quickly. Of course, if you do get Don Quixote, you could always just read Volume 1 and call that done, seeing it was originally published as two seperate books!

    • I got Cranford, which is possibly one of the smallest books on my list, so I’m pretty thrilled. It will be my first read by Elizabeth Gaskell as well, and I loved the TV adaptation so I’m super looking forward to it 🙂

Leave a Reply

